COA auditor among 2018 outstanding public servants

Published: 26 September 2018

The Civil Service Commission (CSC) recognized State Auditor Romel C. Espiña of the Commission on Audit (COA) Regional Office No. XIII, Butuan City among the country’s outstanding public servants. The CSC conferred on Auditor Espiña the Dangal ng Bayan Award for exemplary conduct and ethical behavior. He was among ten recipients of the award.

Auditor Espiña was cited for “steadfastly upholding honesty, integrity, competence, and patriotism in the performance of his functions. His strong commitment in pursuing the Commission on Audit’s fight against graft and corruption resulted in the suspension of government officials and recovery of public funds amounting to millions of pesos in the municipalities placed under his watch.”

The Dangal ng Bayan award is conferred to an individual for performance of an extraordinary act or public service and consistent demonstration of exemplary ethical behavior on the basis of his observance of the eight norms of behavior provided under Republic Act No. 6713 or the “Code of Conduct and Ethical Standards for Public Officials and Employees.”

In last year’s COA Salutes the Best program, the Commission conferred on Auditor Espiña the Gawad Kagitingan for his demonstration of unusual courage and bravery in the discharge of audit work. Auditor Espiña faced the challenges of going to his place of assignment located at distant island municipalities, often experiencing perilous trips because of bad weather.

Dangal ng Bayan recipient State Auditor Romel C. Espiña of COA Regional Office No. XIII with Chairperson Michael G. Aguinaldo, Commissioners Jose A. Fabia and Isabel D. Agito (ret.) and Regional Director Usmin P. Diamel in last year’s COA Salutes the Best program where he was conferred the Gawad Kagitingan award.

“Our auditors work under difficult circumstances and under difficult challenges but they continue to do their job well. This recognition for Auditor Espiña is a most welcome development and we are grateful for the CSC’s appreciation of our auditor’s efforts in the fight against graft and corruption,” COA Chairperson Michael G. Aguinaldo observed.

Auditor Espiña joined Windel V. Alvarez of the Department of Education Division of Camarines Sur, Eva Maria C. De La Paz of the University of the Philippines Manila, Laurensa S. Joldanero of the Municipal Government of San Jose, Roderick L. Labay of Apnagan Elementary School in Oriental Mindoro, Annie Lee C. Masongsong of Labo Elementary School in Oriental Mindoro, Rey B. Peñaranda of the Department of Social Welfare and Development, Gelson A. Rili of the City Government of Marikina, Lowel Adrian M. Solayao of Pilar National Comprehensive High School in Sorsogon, and Mary Rose B. Vincoy of the Provincial Government of Cebu in the roster of the 2018 Dangal ng Bayan awardees.

Meanwhile, the President conferred the Presidential Lingkod ng Bayan Award to nine individuals and one group recipient for exceptional or extraordinary contributions resulting from an idea or performance that had nationwide impact on public interest, security and patrimony. On the other hand, eight individuals and two groups received the Pagasa Award for outstanding contribution resulting from an idea or performance which directly benefit more than one department of the government.

The awards rite for the 2018 Outstanding Public Officials and Employees was held on 27 September 2018 at the Rizal Hall, Malacañan Palace.